Lockdown Tiers For Scotland Revealed As 5 Level Plan Starts Next Week

Alice Lorenzato-Lloyd Alice Lorenzato-Lloyd - Staff Writer

glasgow level four restrictions

The new restrictions will be in force from Monday.

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has confirmed which level each local authority will be placed in as part of the new five-tier coronavirus restrictions. During FMQ’s this afternoon, she announced that Glasgow, Renfrewshire and Lanarkshire would be entering Level 3 from next week.

The Scottish Government has based their decisions on advice from their advisers and the national incident management team and have consulted with local authorities. The First Minister also stressed that under Level 3 this means people should not travel outside the area except for essential exemptions.

On Tuesday, Nicola Sturgeon indicated which level each area will initially be placed in from 6am on Monday 2 November. Based on those comments, Glasgow, Renfrewshire and the rest of the central belt will begin in Level 3 – which is broadly similar to the measures currently in place. There would be a ban on in-home meetings but pubs, restaurants and cafés will be allowed to open until 6pm for food and non-alcoholic drinks.

However, the First Minister expressed some concerns regarding North and South Lanarkshire given the “very high” rates of transmission and hospital admissions in those areas. As a result, the area will be placed in Level 3 initially until the situation there begins to stabilize. She said the situation in North and South Lanarkshire had been very finely balanced and was a “borderline decision” as she called on people to continue to do their part to avoid more severe restrictions.

Other areas which will join the city of Glasgow and Renfrewshire in Level 3 include Inverclyde, East and West Dunbartonshire, Dundee, East Renfrewshire, South Ayrshire, East Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, Stirling, Falkirk, Clackmannanshire, The City of Edinburgh, Midlothian, West Lothian, North and South Lanarkshire and East Lothian.

The First Minister said that some improvements have been seen in recent days and hoped that introducing the toughest measures could be avoided. She also announced that areas such as Highland, Moray, the Western Isles, Shetland and Orkney will be entering the second lowest level of restrictions, Level 1. Aberdeenshire, Aberdeen, Fife, The Borders, Dumfries and Galloway, Argyll & Bute, Perth & Kinross and Angus will be entering Level 2.

Decisions on the levels will be reviewed every week but Level 2 and Level 3 are expected to last at least three weeks each, due to the incubation period of the virus.

A total of 1128 cases have been reported in Scotland in the last 24 hours, of which 416 cases in Greater Glasgow and Clyde and 266 in Lanarkshire.

In addition, face covering exemption cards have been launched today in Scotland, to support those who are unable to wear one to feel more confident and safe when accessing public spaces and using public services.


What are the rules for Level Three?


The rules are no in-home socialising and a maximum of 6 people from 2 households outdoors and in public places like hospitality.

For hospitality the sale of alcohol will be banned. But all premises can open for food and non alcoholic drinks.

Nicola Sturgeon said they can all open, cafes, restaurants and bars until 6pm under the new restrictions.

Takeaways will be permitted for alcohol and food as they are now.


There should be no non-essential travel into or out of the Level 3 area with exemptions for essential travel for work, education, shopping health etc; outdoor exercise; weddings and funerals; and transit through restricted areas


People should avoid car sharing with people outside extended household wherever possible

  • Avoid non-essential use of public transport.
  • Face coverings will be compulsory

Close contact services (e.g. hairdressers, barbers, tailors and beauticians)

  • Open, but may be subject to additional protective measures
  • Mobile close contact services not permitted

Public buildings – e.g. libraries

  • Open

Stadia and events

  • Not permitted / closed to spectators


  • Open – restricted numbers (50)

Life events (weddings, and civil partnerships, funerals) ceremonies and receptions/wakes

  • Weddings/civil partnerships – 20 person limit
  • Funerals – 20 person limit
  • Wakes and receptions permitted, subject to 20 person limit

Early learning and childcare (ELC)(formal childcare)

  • Open – with enhanced protective measures in place

Informal childcare

  • Permitted in line with household/numbers restrictions, children only may enter other households


  • Open – with enhanced protective measures in place


  • Restricted blended


  • Restricted blended

Driving lessons

  • Permitted

Sports and exercise

  • Indoor: individual exercise only (exemption for under 18s)
  • Outdoor – all except adult (18+) contact sports (professional permitted)

Leisure and entertainment

  • Closed

Visitor attractions

  • All open or outdoor only open, depending on circumstances

Public services (health following NHS remobilisation plan)

  • Essential face-to-face services only (online where possible)

Unregulated children’s activities (incl. youth clubs, children’s groups)

  • Differentiated restrictions apply

Support services (mental health, counselling, day services, respite care)

  • Permitted/online where possible.

Offices and call centres

  • Essential only/working from home

Other workplaces

  • Open – working from home default where possible

Read more: Here Are All The Places You’ll Be Required To Wear A Face Mask

Top News